What kind of books did you read when you were a kid?

BillF's mention of Violet Elizabeth Bott made me think about this while I was out having a cough and drag.

I read mostly schoolboy stories - "Teddy Lester's schooldays"; the Just William books by Richmal Crompton; Enid Blyton's Secret Seven and Famous five books. Then I graduated to "Tom Brown's schooldays"; "Treasure Island"; "20,000 leagues under the sea" and similar stuff. (But I really couldn't get into "Rob Roy", which put me off Scott forever.) Then I read books about explorers and was keen on polar expedition books and books about faraway places.

What I had NO interest in (until I became a father) was books about anthropomorphic animals, or kids with strange powers. So "Wind in the willows", the Beatrix Potter books and the Pooh books, or "Peter Pan" and so on were really off the agenda. I just wanted to read books about ordinary kids.

MG

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I was a big fan of Enid Blyton's book. Then I loved the Happy Hollisters (forgot the author.) When I got to high school, I liked reading Joseph Conrad and Stephen Crane. In college, I simply read everything. I still like reading.

Edited by connoisseur series500