Tile flooring...

So my wife and I are closing on our first home this Thursday. It's a beautiful home built in 1909 in one of Lansing's historical districts. The sellers have owned it for 30+ years and have not re-decorated since they first bought the home with the exception of some really butt-ugly linolium they crappily installed in the downstairs kitchen and bathroom.

We want to tile the kitchen floor, the bathroom floor, the kitchen counter top, and about 3 feet up the bathroom wall since we will be installing a clawfoot tub (a home that old has to have a clawfoot tub!)

My question is has anyone in Organissimo-Forum-Land done tiling before? Any suggestions? I've bought a book and I'm studying it. We also found some tile that we really like but it seems a little pricey. I've searched the web, but I can't seem to find any good deals. Are there any places we should look?

The tile we like is an Italian import called Casa Dolce Casa (home sweet home!) and they use really beauitful earth-tone colors and each tile is different from the next. The shading is really subtle and beautiful and the line we like has that wire-cut edge (ie, not a perfect edge in any sense of the word) which adds a nice rustic-ness to the tile.

Just looking for some hints or suggestions. Thanks!

:party:

Congratulations, Jim!

My wife and I bought a house just over a year ago--sounds similar, built in 1865 and in a historic area of Philadelphia. We've been having a blast with it--painting, floors, etc.

BUT, I have no experience with tile. :o

Sooooooo, this post is of NO HELP WHATSOEVER, but sincere congrats, and I look forward to hearing what you do with the place!