greedy ass ebay

I have been using ebay for 6 years or so. Today they really chapped my ass. :angry:

I had listed a couple of things, and in the body of the ads I typed: "paypal accepted, but add 3% to offset fees"

So now I receive an email from ebay saying that my auctions were removed because I was 'cicumventing' their fees. WHAT? All I was doing was asking the buyer to cover them.

These bastards are really getting greedy now. They double dip on fees as it stands now anyway. Paypal is owned by Ebay, and they charge you for listing fees and after sales fees too. They get you on each end.

Okay I feel better (a little bit anyway)

Yeah, this has been a no-no for quite some time. There are exceptions (I believe UK-based sellers are allowed to impose Paypal surcharges), but in general it's a similar situation to surcharges on purchases made with a credit card, which are illegal in some states and at any rate are prohibited by some major card companies like Visa and MasterCard. Some merchants skirt the letter of this prohibition by offering "cash discounts", but I don't think that will fly on eBay.

Basically, as an eBay seller you have two options: accept the Paypal fees as part of the cost of doing business, or refuse to accept Paypal and alienate a whole lot of buyers who have no interest in dealing with checks or money orders.

Or just have a slightly higher reserve to offset the fees. And yes, asking the seller to add an additional 3% to cover Paypal fees has not been allowed for quite some time.

I don't see what the big problem is: Paypal is providing you with a service that you could not do on your own (ie, the ability to get cash instantly from various sources including credit cards) and charging a nominal fee for the service. Trying to pass that cost onto the consumer after a price for the item has already been established has always been a little shady to me. Before eBay outlawed this type of behaviour, I would not buy from sellers who tried to pull that.