Tell me why I should get the Buddy Rich set?

:unsure::unsure:

Don't have anything by him. He wasn't really on my radar screen (I knew who he was) BUT.... the co-stars listed in the Mosaic set is awesome...

"....performances that paired him with 'Sweets'Edison, Benny Carter, George Auld (ts), Thad Jones, Joe Newman, Ben Webster, Frank Wess, Oscar Peterson, Sonny Criss, Jimmy Rowles, Barney Kessel, Frank Rosolino, Bob Cooper. Added to this is his live Miami album on Verve with Flip Phillips...."

I'm intrigued.... So what's the scoop you wise men.... (Do we have any active women on this board?)...?

Who's getting it? Who's not? Why?

:w:w:unsure::unsure:

thanks

• Replies 83
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Well, I have a number of the sessions which will be included in the box set.

For the most part, I believe they are exemplary sessions. Yes, there are some that include long drum solos and a focus on drumming. As a former drummer I may be a little more tolerant of drum solos than others, but sometimes these ARE a bit too much. However Buddy's comping the groups is wonderful, and the musicians surrounding him are topnotch; these that I have are great swinging sessions. . . .

I'll probably get the box set. Not immediately; I rarely get Mosaics immediately these days, unless it's a "vintage" (early jazz) set. But I'll get it!

I was also surprised to see the session from the Ventura/Phillips repeated here, but I will most likely buy this set. Even if you skip the occasional lengthy drum solos, there is some great music here (for a sample check out the "Buddy And Sweets" cd). The upcoming Chu Berry set will be a priority for me (and a likely pre-order)! It's all good... :tup