Frank Sinatra

bebopbob

I'm a real Frank Sinatra novice who's just bought the Francis Albert Sinatra/Antonio Carlos Jobim CD. It's my first Sinatra disc and I'm getting hooked.

Any recommendations for classic Sinatra CDs which include Summer Wind, Strangers in the Night... I'm looking for a compilation or straight issue on CD that contains all or most of the tunes fans associate with Sinatra without having to spend a fortune on a box set.

Thanks. Bob

Caveats: I've not yet been grabbed enough by either the Dorsey stuff od the Columbia stuff to explore it at length; I've gone out of my way to get all the Capitol/pre-retirement Reprise albums I can find, even the less-than-stellar ones.

So, having said that...

Essential Sinatra albums AFAIC:

SONGS FOR YOUNG LOVERS/SWING EASY

IN THE WEE SMALL HOURS

SONGS FOR SWINGIN' LOVERS

COME FLY WITH ME

WHERE ARE YOU?

ONLY THE LONELY

NICE 'N' EASY

SINATRA AND STRINGS

IT MIGHT AS WELL BE SWING

+ the Jobim collaboration you already have and the one I've already suggested.

You'll also want some "Greatest Hits" things or something similar, mostly because A)the "hits" on Capitol were released as singles, not as parts of the "concept" albums and B)the Reprise albums are inconsistent (ex - the absolutely stunning version of "The Way You Look Tonight" is found on an otherwise disposable (imo) album).

But the above list contains albums that stand up wonderfully as a whole, and although you'll probably get some arguments for things NOT on this list, I doubt you'll get any AGAINST the above.

Except from those who do not care for Sinatra, of which there are a few in these parts. ;)

Jim's list is great for the Capitol years :tup , but I would add the following Reprise releases:

September Of My Years (a mature peak)

Sinatra At The Sands (you need some live Frank)

Trilogy (for the past and the present, not the future).